Knowledgebase
ThinLinX Support > ThinLinX Help Desk > Knowledgebase

Search help:


What does the Kiosk Mode option do?

Solution

The exact effect of this option depends on what mode you are using.  In general terms, this option means "attempt to prevent the user from directing the application to connect to some other remote resource, from disclosing the user's personal data to the application's next user, and from escaping a full-screen view".  That is, it alters the application's behavior to be more suitable for a "hot seat" access terminal used by multiple people.  Note that it only affects mode-specific application  - it does not "lock down" the terminal generally (please read How can I set the same configuration on many devices? and How secure is TLXOS? / TLXOS design overview for more general guidance on doing this).

Specific effects are as follows:

HDX

  • the top-of-screen drop-down connection bar (if available - on the Raspberry Pi it is typically absent in any case) is disabled
  • Ctrl-<function-key> shortcuts are disabled (in particular Ctrl-F2, which ungrabs keyboard and mouse)

RDP

  • the Ctrl-Alt-Enter keyboard shortcut to toggle fullscreen mode is disabled (using -toggle-fullscreen)
  • in versions of TLXOS that provided the FreeRDP floatbar (the mock-Windows auto-hide toolbar that appears at the top of a fullscreen desktop), the floatbar is disabled
  • where Auto Login is not in use, the editable recently-used-username pick-list is disabled in the pre-session authentication window, such that the username must always be entered in full by the user

Web

  • adds the --kiosk option (see Chrome documentation - basically this forces borderless fullscreen (no window decorations), removes menu and URL bar options, and displays only a single tab)
  • adds the --incognito option (see Chrome documentation)
  • disables saved passwords and form prefill
  • creates a new temporary profile using default values (copied from /etc/chromium/master_preferences and /etc/default/initial_bookmarks.html) every time the browser is restarted; this ensures that no setting changes will be remembered after the browser exits

You may wish to also enable a session idle timeout (the "Exit session if idle for N minutes" option) to force profile resets for abandoned sessions (this feature was first introduced in TMS 8.4.2 and TLXOS 5.x, but in practice didn't work until TLXOS 5.0.1/5.2.1).

Related articles How do I get out of fullscreen mode?
How can I reconfigure TLXOS while an app is running / what are the keyboard shortcuts?
How can I auto-launch a fullscreen Citrix/Horizon app/desktop only (no app browser)?
Running multiple fullscreen desktops/applications
Why is there no toolbar in a fullscreen Citrix/Horizon desktop on my Raspberry Pi?
Article details
Article ID: 113
Category: Frequently Asked Questions
Date added: 2024-06-13 23:16:54
Views: 37

 
« Go back